Friendsofmurphylibrary's Blog

Spelling Bee Words for 2009-2010 Week 20

Posted on: April 6, 2010

This week’s words for the 2010 Cherokee County Spelling Bee are from Old English, and can be found on the National Spelling Bee web site, www.myspellit.com

dogged   manhandle   quell   fiery

creepy   dreary   fathom   threshold

errand   timely   dairy   reckless

bequeath   nostril   mermaid

4 Responses to "Spelling Bee Words for 2009-2010 Week 20"

The April 7th issue of the Cherokee Scout has a list of spelling bee words. One of the words “alixir” is not listed in the dictionary. Shouldn’t it be “elixir”?

Lucy,
You are so right. The correct spelling is “elixir” – can I blame it on my typing? Are you going to be in the Cherokee County Schools Spelling Bee? If you are, you may win :-). I’ve sent a note to the schools and the Scout may issue a correction. I will make sure it is correct on this blog. Thank you for your sharp eyes!
Julie Chautin (I think that’s how I spell my name 🙂 :-))

Thank you for your response. I was a Vindicator (Youngstown, Ohio, newspaper) Spelling Bee contestant many, many years ago. It was quite an honor to be representing my school, but nerve racking to be facing an enormous audience. Words that are spelled incorrectly seem to “jump out” when I view them. There doesn’t seem to be the emphasis on correct spelling, as there was during my young years. Congratulations on your work furthering an interest in our County schools’ student spelling abilities. I believe having an interest in reading books, furthers recognition of correct spelling.

Lucy

Lucy,
You are so right about a love of reading helping people to spell. I also like the fact that a Spelling Bee is an academic competition that can reward students. Sports is important, but so is competition using your brain. Congratulations on having been in a spelling bee – I watch our local students in the annual bee and they are smart and poised as they stand waiting for their word. It’s a wonderful sight.
Julie

Leave a Reply

Categories

